Regulatory Agencies

A complete list of Regulatory Agencies
is available to WMA members.

Not a Member? Join WMA today.

International Code Council

The International Codes Council (ICC) is a membership association dedicated to building safety and fire prevention. ICC develops the codes and standards used to construct residential and commercial buildings, including homes and schools.

The Building Codes Assistance Project

The Building Codes Assistance Project (BCAP) is a joint initiative of the Alliance to Save Energy, the Natural Resources Defense Council, and the American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy.  BCAP’s aim is to reduce building energy use by promoting the adoption, implementation and advancement of energy-efficient building codes and standards on the state and local levels and internationally.

Visit these Websites to Learn More:

Florida Building Commission

The Florida Building Commission (FBC) is responsible for the Florida Building Code. The Florida Building Code incorporates building, residential, electric, plumbing, mechanical, and administrative codes—accessibility, energy, coastal, manufactured, and state agency codes.

California Building Standards Commission

The CBSC is responsible for administering California’s building codes, including adopting, approving, publishing, and implementing codes and standards.

North Carolina Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM)

The OSFM is made up of six divisions: Engineering and Codes; Manufactured Building; Risk Management; Fire and Rescue Training and Inspections; Fire and Rescue Commission; and Programs, Prevention and Grants. The OSFM is responsible for administering the state building code, training fire and rescue personnel, securing property insurance for state-owned buildings, and reviewing construction plans for state building projects.